A Thin Line Between Love and Hate for the Ghetto

Posted: January 26, 2014 in General

Brilliant essay. Written with passion, intellectual reasoning, and critical thinking. And best of all the author does not allow the pressures of political correctness founded to force him to disregard the ugly truth. The ghetto does not have to be glamorous or support social mobility in order to be appreciated and relevant. It is a part of our story and should never be shunned. Respect.

The Uppity Negro

robert taylor homes

In full disclosure, I’m only one generation removed from cotton fields and inner city public housing.  My dad grew up in a house, but he, his brother and older sisters and parents worked out in cotton fields to make a living as well as his father doing odds and ends jobs around in the small Acadiana town in south central Louisiana.  My mother attributes her formative years to living in the Ida B. Wells Housing development–the projects–on the south side of Chicago on east 37th Place.

I, on the other hand, grew up in the Hyde Park-Kenwood neighborhood of Chicago.  I always preface that by saying, Barack Obama moved into my neighborhood, I was there first.  Yes, I now claim the Obamas as neighbors and it’s a mark of privilege that I clearly embrace.  That notwithstanding, I’ve always been aware that I’m only one generation removed from what it meant…

View original post 1,856 more words

Talk to me...

