Caught in the hustle

Posted: May 2, 2013 in General

The truth…and how it rings. I’m a big fan of this guy.

Deconstructing Myths

“And who’d think in elementary?
I’d see the penitentiary,
 I wish I could take the pain away
if you can make it through the night
there’s a brighter day.”

by Tupac Shakur

When I was a kid, maybe eleven or twelve, I remember my grandfather taking me downtown and driving around the block of the county jail. It looked like a castle from the outside with large stone walls, turrets and chain link fencing around the perimeter. I remember my grandfather telling me that if I didn’t do good in school and listen to my mother, this is where I would end up. Oops, I guess a little context would be helpful here. I was adopted from Vietnam into a German family and my grandfather grew up on a farm, lived through the Depression, served in World War II and owned several businesses. Needless to say, there were few in…

View original post 932 more words

Talk to me...

