I recently listened to the Paul Ryan’s convention speech. A couple if things stood out to me:

He said:

“A lot of guys I went to high school with worked at that GM plant. Right there at that plant, candidate Obama said: “I believe that if our government is there to support you … this plant will be here for another hundred years.” That’s what he said in 2008.
Well, as it turned out, that plant didn’t last another year.”

The Fact:

The plant closed in 2008 before Obama was elected.

He said:

“Obamacare comes to more than two thousand pages of rules, mandates, taxes, fees, and fines that have no place in a free country.”

“We had help from Medicare, and it was there, just like it’s there for my Mom today. Medicare is a promise, and we will honor it. A Romney-Ryan administration will protect and strengthen Medicare, for my Mom’s generation, for my generation, and for my kids and yours.”

The Fact:

The Romney-Ryan plan makes the exact same monetary cut backs.

So as I’m thinking about how the republican party has become the home of right wing extremism with people for whom the ends always justifies the means (evidenced by their manipulation of information), I began to think about what this pending election shows us about the state of the union.

We have come to a place where it is imperative that we (I’m speaking of Black voters specifically and all voters ages 25-35 in general) become more socially conscious and politically informed. In truth the country belongs to us. We have allowed our parents and their parents to hold power for far too long. This wouldn’t be so bad if they hadn’t proved themselves to be a delusional and self-centered generation.

This generation I’m speaking of (45 and up) for the most part have been struggling to maintain their relevance. This obsession with health, fitness, and cosmetic surgery is their doing, as the strain to hold onto their fleeting youth. Their harsh critique of the younger generation’s apathy meanwhile they are allowing social security and the employment market to fail because why? Oh their already settled into the jobs they plan to retire from and have already invested in retirement planning during a time when companies actually offered helpful options for that.

We gotta wake up and get involved if we want the future to be what we (and our kids) will need.

I’m not Sayin; I’m just Sayin

An Angry Black Man

Talk to me...

